The Adventure Begins

Everything has happened so fast. 10 days ago I left my job in corporate software sales and since then my wife, Natalia, and I have packed our possessions (into storage), rented our Huntington Beach, California home, sold my car, packed for a year travel and prepared as best we can for the first 6 months in Malawi.

In the center of the whirlwind of frantic preparations has been an assurance of our decision to join SolarAid and their African operations subsidiary, SunnyMoney. Their simplicity of mission and clarity of purpose has been the calmness in our storm: obsolete the kerosene lamp (which is toxic and expensive. And very dim).

The knock on effects of achieving this are profound. Children in the rural areas of East Africa can read at night. Success will set the table for commercial renewable energy businesses to follow (with multiples of environmental benefit). Families have more money to feed their families. All achieved by the most affordable solar lamp available in Africa.

There’s been some challenges getting to this point. I’m English and Natalia is Colombian. Much could be written about this but a visual paints a thousand words. Compare our national artists, English  L.S. Lowry (known for his dark paintings of working class stickmen in northern England) and Colombian Botero (who painted over-sized figures in bright colors partying the night away). Apply that to how we approached the last 2 months and you’ll get an idea why we really prepared for this trip in 10 days.

But bizarrely our contrasting styles has worked and we’ve been able to complete our pre-trip checklist and have had time to see our families in California and England. We’re ready. Our education stars tomorrow.

 

11 thoughts on “The Adventure Begins

  1. You two are amazing and brave! What a wonderful adventure. I can’t wait to read your next post. Have fun and enjoy the ride ~ With much love and admiration from Lisa, Ken, and family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have put this page as a Favorite so I will never lose it and check on it often. I just gave a presentation about what I believe a contributing member of society is. I should have put a picture of the two of you in the mix. Boa sorte na sua aventura. – Regina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Regina, that’s very kind of you to say that. In trying to show Natalia your comment on my phone I may have deleted your comment but I think I’ve managed to add it back!

      Like

  3. This blog is awesome…please Keep the updates coming in!! Love you guys and all of your adventures, so excited to see what these next months bring to you!!

    Like

  4. love it Phil – an inspiration to all us corporate soldiers without the balls to change. I will say I prefer Botera to Lowry, but hey, my wife comes from that land as well as you know. Keep writing, but I must say that the lack of beers is a concern to me…..

    Like

  5. It’s been amazing to catch up with the two of you on your adventure on this blog! Wow…..Phil your an amazing writer and a bit hilarious…lol
    I hope you two are back in the states sept 23 for our wedding……it seriously would not be the same without the two of you! Muah 💋💋💋💋and keep up the posts, I’m caught up for now, chilling by the pool in HB😎😘

    Like

    1. Hi Pam – great to hear from you! We can see what posts you’ve read!! You’ve been skipping!!! There’s 190 posts! But thank you.

      Sept 23rd. Possible. And we’ll do what we can to be there.

      Like

      1. Oh wow….not sure how I skipped…..other then I was having cocktails 🍹by the pool!! lol can’t wait yo catch up😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

